something to keep you busy!

Gadget Review: myphone B22

 Here’s a review of something I am actually personally using. I have been playing with this phone for more than a week now and before anything else. I would want to explain why I decided to buy this phone.

 

I normally have three (3) SIM Cards with three (3) separate phones. This set up is very good but very annoying if I just want to walk around on a weekend with no bags. Having one dual SIM phone is really handy since I will only have to carry two (2) mobile phones.

 

Although there is a Dual SIM phone from Samsung the myphone B22 I purchased is 1/3rd the price of the Samsung D880 making the decision a very easy one.

 

For the longest time, I have been thinking of getting those China-made phones with Dual SIM and a built in TV. The only thing that stopped me from getting one is that I find it too bulky. I am already using an ASUS P525 as my office phone and another bulky phone will really not help.

 

Now, enough of the reasons why I bought this phone, to all of you wondering what “myphone” is, here’s their press release from their website and here is myphone’s official home page

 

The B22 has the following features.

 

Network: Triband GSM 900/1800/1900

Camera: VGA (0.3 Megapixels)

Display: 176 x 220 pixels, 2.0″, 64K colors TFT

Connectivity: Bluetooth 1.2 with A2DP, USB

Memory: 1000 entries Phonebook Memory

Expansion: Micro SD/T-flash memory card slot up to 1 GB

Device control: Alphanumeric keypad

Messaging: SMS, EMS, MMS, E-mail

GPRS: Class 12, WAP 2.0 browser

Sound: stereo speaker

Multimedia: MP3 / MP4 player / Video Recorder / FM Radio

Battery: 1000 mAh

Dimensions: 110 x 46 x 16.6 mm

Weight: 92 g

Standby time: 150 – 200 hours

Talk time: 120 mins.

 

Now camera is VGA, I was not very interested with the camera feature of this phone since I am also not a fan of camera phones. I only use it in the very seldom times I carry my bulky dSLR.

 

Here are sample shots I have taken inside our office.

 

 

Taking those sample shots were actually the first time for me to use this phone’s cam.

 

The Bluetooth with A2DP was a bonus for me since I have a lot of spare Bluetooth headsets. For its price, I was honestly not expecting this feature. It uses a MicroSD card (which is not included in the package) with a maximum of 1gig only.

 

The B22 is very well built, holding it doesn’t make you feel cheap but the keypad looks like a typical Chinese phone with the “0”, “#” and “*” keys on the right side.

 

 

All the other controls are the same. It has a bright LCD which is also a finger print magnet. The back of the B22 is so plain that they even didn’t make holes for its speaker.

 

 

Using it for more than a week, I just have three (3) complains about this phone and to my personal surprise, I am not complaining about the keypad!

 

1. The Microphone is located at the phone’s side. I have talked to a lot of people already and all of them tell me that my voice is clearer when the phone is on my left ear. Specially when using the phone in noisy places like malls.

 

2. It uses a special “myphone” cable. To some, this may not be a big deal but for people like me who do not want to carry additional cables around. It would have been very helpful to consumers if they just used a regular mini USB cable which is also used by most Pocket PC’s and Motorola Phones.

 

 3. User cannot customize the “silent” profile. Switching this phone to “silent” means that you will also turn its vibrator off. If you want the phone to have no sound but still vibrates for notification, the right profile is “meeting”.

 

I’m not sure if I will still find things to turn me against the B22 but for normal everyday use, it has done its job pretty well.

 

Here are some features which I think are cool:

 

  1. You can receive a message in SIM 1 and reply using SIM 2.
  2. It has two (2) call buttons giving you that option to choose which SIM you want to use when calling.
  3. It will only use SIM 1 for GPRS so no need to keep on tinkering with the settings.
  4. Both SIM Cards are active at the same time. You will have two (2) signal symbols working. It would have honestly helped if they can allow user to rename SIM cards, but after using if for a week. I got used to it.

 

Although a lot of people question my new purchase. This new phone definitely made my life easier as it means one (1) less gadget on my bag. It may not be for all people thanks to its SMALL fonts but somehow, I have not encountered any problem with it.

 

I cannot say it’s a good buy since myphone had cheaper models available which maybe better but for now I have no regrets using this phone.

 

Here are more photos of my new myphone B22.

 

Comments on: "Gadget Review: myphone B22" (5)

  1. Thanks for the detailed review, it made me more interested to purchase the phone. Just one question, how about the signal strength especially for sun cellular? thanks

  2. I cannot comment on the “SUN” signal strength since I am using it in Singapore right now.

    There were some comments in forums stating that it is normal for dual SIM phones to have a weaker signal in SIM 2.

    you may also want to check the following (Philippine) threads.

    http://www.bncxe.org/showthread.php?t=33371

    http://www.philmug.ph/forum/showthread.php?t=42761

  3. […] And here’s my myPhone B22 […]

  4. @nej
    actually i already purchased one…and i inserted 2 sims.smart and sun…the signal of both sims is incredible especially on the sun b’coz you don’t need to climb tall trees to look for the signal..
    @ice..
    thanx for the info..but one query..can u upload a photo of ur headset???i was looking for it..and unfortunately i didn’t find any!!thanx!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

