something to keep you busy!

Nokia E63

This feels really odd writing (and at times, talking) something about a device running on Symbian 60.

From my post about the Asus P525, you’ll know that I have been a Windows Mobile user for the longest time. However, if I had to write the main reasons why I bought a Symbian 60 phone instead of getting a new Windows Mobile device, my list will be focused on the negative sides of Windows Mobile.

1. Windows Mobile’s built in web browser is really bad! I know, I can always install Opera, Skyfire and other pocket web browsers available but Microsoft should start upgrading their own web browser since not all of us have the time to purchase, install and tweak our phones. I can easily forgive this issue a couple of years back. The iPhone’s Safari is great, I have not tried the Android and the Palm Pre’s web browser but the Symbian 60’s web browser has got to be one of the best.

2. I got tired of waiting for a Windows Mobile device with a Capacitive Screen. I know the E63 is not even a touch screen device but I rather use it than use a device with a resistive screen!

3. Normally, Windows Mobile Devices come in Black, Silver and White… I wanted something different! I have a red E63!

Getting the E63 over an iPhone or an HTC Dream… simple, I am a Starhub subscriber.

Now, getting the E63 over the E71 is another story, I chose the E63 because I did not want to pay extra for the E71’s HSDPA, GPS and heavier Metal Body.

Now, focusing on my new Nokia E63, I did not install anything yet except for Fring, it’s really handy to have a good web browser, e-mail and instant messenger installed to your device.

One thing that irritated me with the E63 is that you’ll have to configure your internet connection separately for the web browser, sending and receiving e-mails. For a basic user, that’s already three (3) times. Using Fring will mean a fourth (4th) setting!

Second complain will have to be the ear piece’s volume is never enough, with my line of work, I receive a lot of calls from satellite phones and sometimes their signal is not that clear. Now, the satellite phones unclear signal plus the E63’s weak ear piece will almost be equal to a complete disaster for me.

Third and last complain is the weak vibration alert, it just too weak.

Now to the positives, since camera does not have auto focus, it’s fast! It uses 3.5mm headphones, very convenient! It has a built in flashlight which you can use even if the phone is locked.

In a world where nothing’s perfect, the Nokia E63 works just fine for my needs, I’m really happy with it and I can see a couple of years with this phone in my pocket.

I know, that after reading this article you’ll notice that I gave the negatives a longer part than the positives. I think the most important part is that I’m presently using the device right now. Its not perfect but for me, it has everything that I need.

Here are photos taken using the Nokia E63’s camera.

Comments on: "Nokia E63" (5)

  1. […] the original: Nokia E63 SHARETHIS.addEntry({ title: "Nokia E63", url: "http://www.plurter.com/2009/08/04/nokia-e63/" […]

  2. […] About ← Nokia E63 […]

  3. […] my Dopod 838 and eventually my Asus P525. But ever since I decided to replace my Asus P525 with my Nokia E63 my Bluetooth keyboard has been collecting dust in my […]

  4. […] then I used a Dopod 838 (also known as the HTC Wizard) and lastly the Asus P525. I used a Nokia E63 for more than a year after the Asus P525 as I was still undecided on which phone to get next. I […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

