something to keep you busy!

Micro SIM Card Cutter

My latest “gadget” for 2011…

A Micro SIM Card Cutter!!!
I am not a guy who is new to cutting SIM Cards, I have cut a couple of SIM cards a couple of years back when I was using a special adapter to make a regular phone work with 2 SIM cards.
I’m talking about these type of adapters which changes your network every time you turn your phone on and off.
When I bought an iPhone 4, my carrier was asking me to pay extra SGD 20.00 for a new micro SIM card because as all of us know, the iPhone and iPad uses a Micro SIM Card, I immediately said no to the customer service guy and told him that I’ll just take the risk of cutting my SIM card.
When I got home, I made the necessary measurements and after grabbing the best pair of scissors we have at home, I cut my SIM and it worked perfectly.
Using a cut SIM card on the iPhone 4 is ok, but since the SIM card also has a dedicated holder/tray; it’s a bit risky if you cut your SIM too much.
Therefore, after some research, I decided to get a Micro SIM Card Cutter.
Seeing and using it is very simple, it’s just like a regular puncher.
Its design and finish will definitely not win any awards and it really feels like you should keep it away from water and moisture to avoid rust.
I have already used it to cut a colleague’s SIM card and I’m planning to tag it along on my next vacation because I haven’t seen a pre-paid Micro SIM Card…
Just a tip for those who also plan to get one of these cutters, after cutting the SIM card, use a sand paper to clean up the newly cut SIM, this will make your SIM fit smoother when you insert it on your phone’s SIM tray.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

